Beginning of the Parish
Sacred Heart Parish began from the desire of nine lay Catholics to organize an English-speaking parish in Effingham, IL. Bishop James Ryan granted permission and formally opened the church in 1892 with Fr. Patrick Ducey as its first pastor. The original church was located at the corner of Fayette Avenue and Banker Street.
Fr. Wiegand's Tenure
Under the tenure of Fr. Gerald Wiegand, Sacred Heart Parish outgrew the original church and nearly eight decades after it began, Sacred Heart established a new home for parishioners. In 1969, Bishop William O'Connor dedicated the current 'church in the round' located at the corner of Fayette & Keller Avenue in Effingham.
Fr. Michal Becomes the Pastor
On June 29, 2017, Fr. Michal Rosa became pastor of Sacred Heart Church. He, along with our parish family, is working to make God's presence a greater felt reality among us - a presence in both word and deed.
As we recently celebrated the 125th anniversary of Sacred Heart Parish, we reflect on the fortitude of our founders. Those nine organizers of the parish were: Mrs. Alice Partridge, Mr. John H. Fisher, Mr. John C. Eversman, Mr. A.J. Worman, Mr. Samuel Campbell, Mr. Thomas Leddy, Mr. Edward Bannin, Mr. George Hogan, and Mr. Henry G. Habing.
The Parish Today
It was because of their love of the Catholic Church and their desire to begin an English-speaking parish, that today we have a vibrant Church with over 900 families and a Christ-centered School which is home to 210 students.
The same spirit of love which guided the early days of the parish, continues to manifest as current parishioners join together to worship, to celebrate our faith, and most importantly to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ.